European Heritage Label: 25 sites pre-selected for European Commission
News | Cultural Tourism | EU Culture Policy |

19 Member States of the European Union proposed 25 sites to the European Commission to be awarded the European Heritage Label. The Commission will designate the sites in early 2018.

The European Heritage Label is an initiative by the European Union and awarded every two years to sites that have a particular European dimension. The label raises awareness of sites significant to Europe's history, culture and development.

Commissioner for Education, Culture, Youth and Sport, Tibor Navracsics, said "The celebrations marking the 60th anniversary of the Treaties of Rome last month were a powerful reminder that the European Union is built on values such as peace, freedom, tolerance, solidarity. These values must not be taken for granted, we have to work for them every day. All the sites on the European Heritage Label list promote these values and remind us of all those who fought to establish and preserve them. I look forward to celebrating the sites that will be added to the list during the European Year of Cultural Heritage in 2018."

The process for the selection is two-fold: First countries propose sites for the label, in a second step an inidependent panel of experts, under the responsibility of the Commission, carries out the final selection. The label is awarded every two years to sites.

You can find the list of pre-selected sites here. Among them are Javorca – the Place of European Remembrance (Slovenia), Leipzig’s Musical Heritage Sites (Germany) and the Village of Schengen (Luxembourg) as well as the The Maastricht Treaty 1991-1992 (The Netherlands).