The new CULT Committee has been formed
News | EU Culture Policy |

The new European Parliament is taking form and after a constitutive plenary sitting last week, David-Maria Sassoli was elected President of the European Parliament and members of the new CULT committee, the Committee on Culture and Education, were assigned. The chairs and vice-chairs of the CULT committee and other committees will be elected later this month.

On 3 July, 14 Vice-Presidents were also elected and Mairead McGuinness (EPP, Ireland) was elected first Vice-President. Find the full list of new Vice-Presidents and the voting results in the official press release.

As for the CULT committee, consisting of 31 full members, several long-standing members did not run for the European Parliament again, but NEMO is happy to see that Julie Ward (S&D, UK) was re-elected and will stay in the CULT committee. In May 2018, Julie Ward was the first MEP to participate in the museum advocacy scheme NEMO Political Internships in Museums.

At the constitutive meeting of the Culture Committee on 10 July 2019, the election of the Chair and the 4 Vice-Chairs will take place. Future meetings dates and agendas of the CULT Committee are available on the committee website.

>> Get acquainted with all of the CULT Committee members here