24 EU Member States will cooperate on Digitising Cultural Heritage

On 9 April 2019, 24 European countries signed a Declaration of cooperation on advancing digitisation of cultural heritage.

Together, the signatories will be able to enhance the visibility and use of Europe’s cultural heritage, improve citizen engagement and support spill over in other sectors by cooperating to better use state-of-the-art digital technologies.

The declaration is made up of three pillars of action:

  • A pan-European initiative for 3D digitisation of cultural heritage artefacts, monuments and sites;
  • Re-use of digitised cultural resources to foster citizen engagement, innovative use and spill-overs in other sectors;
  • Enhancing cross-sector and cross-border cooperation and capacity building in the sector of digitised cultural heritage.

More information can be found here.